Truly interdisciplinary

Two young researchers in a green house

The Oeschger Centre for Climate Change Research is an interdisciplinary centre at the University of Bern and consists of research groups from participating institutes. It is administered by the Faculty of Sciences. The Oeschger Centre has been given a mandate to achieve their mission by the university's directorate.

The president, the director and a scientific committee representing the participating faculties and institutes are the strategic governing body of the Oeschger Centre.

Scientific committee

The members of the scientific committee of the Oeschger Centre are:

  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Stocker (President)
  • Prof. Dr. Martin Grosjean (Director)
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Brönnimann (Geography)
  • Prof. Dr. Johanna F. Ziegel (Statistics)
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Rohr (History)
  • Prof. Dr. Karin Ingold (Political sciences)
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Stocker (Physics)
  • Prof. Dr. Willy Tinner (Biology)
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Türler (Chemistry)

Director of studies

Persons responsible for the Graduate School of Climate Sciences are:

Prof. Dr. Martin Grosjean
Dr. Peter Stucki

Equality managers

The persons responsible for family-friendly working conditions and gender equality are:

Prof. Dr. Olivia Romppainen
Prof. Dr. Martin Grosjean
Dr. Ariane Balmer

Quality management and development

The person responsible for quality management and development is:

Dr. Peter Stucki